Streetsville is one of Mississauga’s most important and iconic townships. The history of the town is quite fascinating and storied, however that’s a story for another day.
Today, we just want to take a look back in time and see some old photos of historic Streetsville, and compare them to modern day. So let’s take a walk back through history and see what’s changed!
Central Queen Street
The first photo here is from the mid 1800’s and it shows a vastly different Streetsville. We’re looking at central Queen Street, which is the heart of the town. The two pictures are from slightly different viewpoints, as the modern-day pic is actually past the turn-off in the first photo – the big difference being there wasn’t much past the turn-off in the historic picture. It’s fun to see the old dirt road along main street and the many folks on bicycles.
Credit Valley Railway Station
The Credit Valley Railway Station was built in 1877 in order to bring back prosperity to the town, following years of being bypassed by trains. The station took almost a decade to build, largely because of years of suspension due to negotiations. The railway station still stands today and is in working order, and it’s place in history is paramount.
Dandie’s Hardware Store
From the mid 1800’s through to the mid 1900’s, this little location was a hardware store under various owners. The longest-running of which was James Dandie for almost thirty years. In the 100 years since, Dandie’s became a butcher shop, an electrical supply company, a pub, and today sits as Crafted Decor.
Franklin House is one of Streetsville’s most iconic buildings. The building was erected in 1855 by William Graydon and Peter Douglas. It’s history is long, so let’s hear it from the owners themselves:
It was originally built as the private residence of Peter Douglas, who in 1859 went on to sell it to Bennet Franklin, a partner in Barber Brother’s Toronto Woollen Mills. In 1877 the building was converted to a Hotel and then to a Public House which in 1910 under new owndership was renamed “Queens Hotel”. In 1927 it ceased to operate as a hotel with the enforcement of the Canada Temperance Act but has continued to be used for commercial purposes. The building is said to have escaped demotion in 1979 Thanks to the citizens who wanted to preserve history and heritage. Today The Franklin House is designated and protected under the terms of the Ontario Heritage Act.
Of course, the Franklin House has long been said to be haunted, but people frequent it every single day as a pub and restaurant. Just ignore the ghouls moaning in the walls!
Loyal Orange Lodge
The Loyal Orange Lodge of Streetsville was built under the supervision of William Graydon – the same William Graydon who built The Franklin House. In fact, it was even built the same year as the iconic house.
The Loyal Orange Lodge is a Protestant fraternal order based primarily in Northern Ireland – which is where the Graydon family originated. Today the Lodge acts as an insurance broker company.
And our final look back in time is back on Queen Street. This view is from near Thomas Street, which is the intersection right off of main street and houses the Starbucks.
What’s great about these two photos is that is shows both the growth of the main street, but also the influx of cars and technology. The old photo is circa 1920, and you can see a handful of vehicles, and even a horse and cart on the left side.
It’s always great to take a step back and remember where we came from. Streetsville is a wonderful place in the city and seeing how it has grown is a way of looking forward and appreciating where we are. Thankfully, Streetsville has grown in a way that hasn’t lost its heritage and we can still see the history of the town today.
All photos courtesy of Heritage Mississauga and Streetsville Historical City.